The importance of tagging

PREFACE: I’m writing this with the assumption that the reader is already familiar with the terms I use and how I use them, so I apologize to anyone who hasn’t a clue what I’m talking about.

I don’t post as often as I would like to on any of my social media platforms, mostly because I understand the importance of tagging and it can get quite time-consuming. All too often though, I see my photos floating around, with no mention of my name or business. I work with a variety of vendors and stylists across the country, so if I have to find out my photos are being featured on a blog by seeing that one of those vendors or stylists is sharing it, it can be frustrating. I completely understand that not every vendor or contributor can be tagged in every post, but at the very minimum, the photographer (the owner of the photo) and the stylist should be tagged in a photo or post. In my experience, I’ve seen a lot more of the tagging of the stylist alone.

This is simple customer service, quite honestly. The public needs a quick, easily digestible amount of information with simple instructions on how to proceed. Tag me. Tag my business. It’s that easy.

Here’s what happens when my business is not tagged in a post. The mentioned and tagged stylist receives 20-50 new Facebook fans and 15-30 new Instagram followers. They also get contacted to feature the work in other places. Often, it also generates new business leads. Some of the vendors I work with have small but true fan followings and others have massive crowds following and liking their work. I would say that I fit in the small but true fan category when it comes to my Facebook page and Instagram feed. In other words, I have room for growth, I’m happy to have new fans find me and keep up to date with the things I’m doing. When my work is properly tagged, I have gained new clients, paid jobs, and working relationships with industry pros. They love what they see and they click on my link to see more. They send me a message because they are interested in working with me. They send me a message to get my opinion on something. They reach out and get in contact with me. Yes, it’s that important.

When my photo is being used as the foot in the door to get someone to click on a blog post, I truly believe I should be properly credited for drawing that attention. My work has been featured in a variety of blogs and I certainly don’t want to burn bridges with anyone. I’m simply asking that everyone be more diligent about including tags of the businesses that have helped you get where you are. Spread the word. Cross-promote. It’s the responsible thing to do. If I fail to draw in new fans or business, I won’t have much to share in the future.

Now I’m going to make it incredibly simple for you to find and follow my Facebook page and Instagram feed, if you so desire.

http://www.facebook.com/mariahealeyphotography

http://instagram.com/mariahealeywp  @mariahealeywp

One thought on “The importance of tagging

Leave a Reply

