JT’s Newborn Portraits

On JT’s 10th day of life, I thought it was a good idea to take some snuggly, cuddly newborn portraits of him. I’m stubborn and completely just decided to toss aside the fact that I was still recovering from major surgery – I had a human removed from my body after all! I know I totally overdid it, but I just couldn’t help myself and I’m so incredibly happy I sucked it up and took these photos!

I was able to finally use my Posey Pillow to lay JT on for his photos. I also used my background stands to hold up the blanket that was used as a background. I found this fuzzy, fur-like blanket at Home Goods a couple years ago and knew it would be perfect for baby sessions.

My good friend Eunice knitted the adorable elf hat he’s wearing in the first photo. Isn’t it so sweet?! I found the vintage baby scale at a photographer’s garage sale hosted by Sandy Puc, another hugely successful baby photographer in Denver. The blue stand was something I found on my way home from work one day. There was a guy on the side of the road selling a bunch of colorful handmade wooden pieces and I knew I just had to have something. I’ve been able to use it for several photo shoots.

I’ll admit it, I was pretty nervous at first about taking JT’s newborn portraits. I’m not a newborn photographer and I was so stressed out that I’d wake him up and lose any chance of getting decent photos, that I just sweat it out and worked as fast as possible. I know they’re not perfect, but I’m still happy with them!

IMG_6330 IMG_6347JosephHealey-MariaHealey

Leave a Reply

